Visual Studio Toolset

phpfreaked9

26 Apr, 2016 05:29 AM

Hello,

I'm new to your service and i've been puzzled by something, i have a open source project that I am trying to set up and I have trouble creating the right environment where the my application builds. In specific my question is about the visual studio platform toolsets. I am using the Visual Studio 2015 image however i can't seem to use the targets v140.

Basically my project (https://github.com/phr34k/serpent) compiles initially using nmake, and from that point on it bootstraps itself, it should be able to cross compile itself using msbuild. However msbuild indicates the visual studio platform toolset cannot be found.
In the install phase I am calling vcvarsall.bat and after this call nmake is available is available in the environment. Is there any notable reason the visual studio it doesn't recognize the PlatformToolset v140? I get the following error when msbuild is run:

'''
C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Platforms\Win32\Microsoft.Cpp.Win32.Targets(511,5): error MSB8008: Specified platform toolset (v140) is not installed or invalid. Please make sure that a supported PlatformToolset value is selected. [C:\projects\serpent\msvc\env.project
''''

If somebody could help me with this problem I would appreciate it much, is there a way to download the images to verify the installation and certain paths of the installation?

Cheers,

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Feodor Fitsner on 26 Apr, 2016 05:41 AM

You can RDP into build worker and check paths: http://www.appveyor.com/docs/how-to/rdp-to-build-worker

2. 2 Posted by thanos.kazakos on 27 Jul, 2018 06:30 AM

Hello,

New here and I stumbled upon the same issue. What is the solution? Doesn't the yml specified image for "image: Visual Studio 2015" include the "Specified platform toolset (v140)"

Can I download and install them during compilation or init phase?

Any advice would be appreciated.